Public Reviews

Post your reviews and ratings of The Age Of Stupid below. There's also tonnes of viewers' feedback from screenings here, as well as lots more reviews of varying levels of hysteria on other sites: Rotten Tomatoes - Amazon UK - Amazon USA - IMDB - BBC.

If you hated our film and want to be very rude about it, go for it.  But any comments from climate deniers/sceptics will be deleted. The debate about whether climate change is partly man-made is over. One of the key reasons we are now so desperately short of time in which to act to avert runaway climate change is that decades were lost to the deniers' pointless, ill-informed, obfuscating arguments. See Climate Denial for more. 

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
5

I just wanted to say CONGRATULATIONS and how much I enjoyed the film and to say a huge thanks for inviting me to the premiere and especially for ITN Source’s presence! The archive footage from ITN Source looked stunning and I can’t tell you how proud I was to see how you’d used it in the film! The film itself was a masterpiece and a prime example of first class British film making from a very talented crew and cast. I will do everything I can to get word out across the industry about ‘The Age of Stupid’ and seriously wish you every continued success for the big autumn cinema release. The best of luck at the BAFTAs and if I can be of any further help – please do let me know! Best wishes.
FROM: K

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

Age of Stupid screening was amazing. I'm so proud, impressed and blown away by the whole thing. Especially watching 11th hour the next night, there's no comparison. Age of Stupid is the kind of film you want everyone you know to see.
FROM: K

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

You made me cry, and I wasn't alone. All yr investors, we were holding our breath hoping you'd done a good job. It was better than I'd dared hope. Awesome. Thank you for your gift to the world...I'll shut up now cos guessing you don't like gushing, and it's very tempting ;-)
FROM: S

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

I really really loved the film. Sorry I didn't stay around for the party. I was actually completely overwhelmed and had to go and cry for ten minutes. Protracted sleep deprivation and nerves relating to imminent Serbian exam no doubt contributed to my emotional state, but the film seemed very powerful to me. I don't think we see such nuanced characterisations in documentaries very often - particularly not in issue driven films.
FROM: C

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

I would like to say that I left the Curzon feeling a whole host of emotions. I felt anger (I knew a little about the Shell issue in Kenya and have been boycotting them for some years now), despair, I laughed in places and I actually welled up in places. Your film is magnificent and I've been telling anyone who listens about it! I don't quite know how these things work, but it needs to be shown to as large an audience as possible, on television.
FROM: A

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

I watched Leonardo di Caprio's Eleventh Hour on Sunday evening. At roughly the same length, with a celebrity frontman and similar message, competition bells rang. I needn't have worried. It was talking heads (lots of Yankee profs, boffs and Stephen Hawking) talking history, showing traditional stats, in right-n lecture mode - even Leo came over all ponderous. It had none of the zip and impact visually, artistically or dramatically as Year of Stupid. Though, of course, it's all to the good if (some) Americans are getting the message but this effort will have the opposite effect on the general masses if they don't nod off in the first few frames. Your film was extraordinaryly powerful and engaging with the issue brought stunningly alive by the individual dilemmas facing the Shell-employeed, gentle good-guy Katrina survivor; the would-be African doctor forced to sell blackmarket oil in water bottles to fund her education; the Indian airline magnet who believes he's helping eradicate poverty and the windfarm developer fighting the NIMBY battles. love.
FROM: J

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
5

Had a very profound experience at the screening - with your film and with hearing you speak. Seeing someone so completely committed and true to themselves and their artistic vision. I actually can't quite convey the impact you had on me, so I'll just say hat off to you. Very selfishly hoping this wasn't your last film. With respect.
FROM: C

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

Many congratulations to you and everyone else involved for a fantastic film! My main objective in putting some money into the project, especially now the film has been made, is about making a contribution to something that might actually change people's attitudes and habits. However worthy the film might be, unless it can actually change behaviour, then it would be rather pointless. I have no doubt you have been constantly debating this point as you went along!

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

If I were a film critic my review would be filled with words like moving, powerful, and must see! As a member of the audience I was totally engaged from beginning to end and was converted, without any preaching or lecturing, from being mildly concerned about climage change to a party bore on the urgency of the issue. I am convinced I will be the first amongst many converts and hope that this film gets the widest possible audience. Everyone I speak to asks the same question "what can i do?". The first thing I will be doing is telling everyone to go see "The Age of Stupid".
FROM: N

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

I was absolutely blown away by your film. I thought it'd be good, but it was amazing. Heartbreakingly beautiful. FROM: C

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

I wanted to say once again how impressed I was with how powerful the film is. Like a kick in the balls with a hug, I felt. I was on the verge of tears throughout. It's a fantastic piece of work and I really hope it wakes people up - I think you've done everything possible to make the message accessible without diluting it. Well done again.
Love.
FROM: D

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

Really impressed - thought provoking stuff.
FROM: R

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

It was really really great. I’m still kind of reeling; it was very powerful, v affecting.
FROM: F

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

Congratulations - it's a fantastic film,..., hope it will be out as a DVD so I can give it to everyone in my life and convert them.
FROM: G

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
5

Absolutely awesome! I am sooo excited...You deserve to sleep well tonight. You must be / should be / immensely proud. I am so pleased i was able to be a funder...and.... at same time.... i want to be so much more now...I am ready to mobilise and help get the film out there... and do something to help the next phase...
My networks are pretty good...Much love.
FROM: D

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

Many congratulations on an incredible film. It looks fantastic, beautifully filmed, and it's so consumingly stimulating, with so many aspects to it, there's no way you could come out and talk about other things like you do after so many one-dimensional films. I loved the animations, too. best of luck.
FROM: S x

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
5

oh congratulations! what an epic achievement..i loved the film. so did the friend i came with. he said it was excellent, and appreciated the unique angle on climate change. i thought it was really smooth, flowed, very engaging throughout, not a word out of place, 90 mins passed by in a flash. excellent mix of macro/micro stores and the animation. it was a bit of a tear jerker seeing the children in jordan knowing how much you did for so many children out there...and so much fun seeing things you've sent pics of..it was brilliant, the characters and stories were so strong. oh what incredible representatives of the world you found..i keep thinking of different parts of the film. i want to see it again. i take back my reservations of the title, i can see it fits the film now...i hope it doesn't put anybody off, but im sure it will attract lots too. ill keep my fingers and everything crossed for you now. what an incredible journey you've been on!
FROM: D x

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

I was so pleased with how it sounded at the cinema, and as I keep saying how incredible it looked. Thanks again for letting me be so involved in such a great project.
FROM: N

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

Unsure why... but at some level i curiously feel deeply lifted and liberated...now, the morning after the film. Thought you should know... The power of a question mark .... ? Maybe you’ve created a feelgood movie where the feelgood only kicks in after 18 hours. Kinda “surprised by joy”. know it’ll wear off, but if others get the same delayed action high kick, it’ll be worth every penny at the box office. What if at some deep level we all decide we’re worth saving.
FROM: Happy D

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
5

My Goodness you're a talented pair! I was absolutely thrilled with "Stupid". What a tremendous achievement. It's really powerful; a knockout indeed. Not only is "Stupid" crammed with info but it has its funny moments and is touching too - both R and I had tears in our eyes at times. I feel privilieged to have been able to support the making of it.
FROM: B

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

Thanks so much for inviting me to the screening - my head's still buzzing with it. Can't wait to see it again and tell everyone else to see it too. Congratulations - it's an absolutely amazing film. Awestruck.
FROM: A

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
5

It's not often in any of our lives that we can feel that we have really found and answered our vocation, but you two can be sure of that. We joke about saving the world, but this may just be a real piece of helping that salvation come in time.
FROM: P

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
5

The final cut is very impressive it really is, thank you for arranging the opportunity to see it with fellow investors. Met some lovely interesting people working in all sorts of different ways to Be the Change, very inspiring for me right now. I'm sorry I didn't say goodbye before I left, I was feeling rather emotional actually. Thank you again for your incredible dedication and work, however successful it is in financial terms it will surely make a difference and contribute positively to creating wider understanding amongst ordinary people and inspiring them to take determined action. All good wishes.
FROM: A

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
5

The film is seriously brilliant. The use of Pete is economical and skillful. The docs thread together seamlessly and the graphics are beautiful, informative and never preachy. Stunning, stunning and stunning.
FROM: SB

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
5

Just wanted to say congrats on the FANTASTIC film! Seeing the finished product yesterday was very exciting, and it really, really got me deep down inside, yet again. Wow. I hope you're feeling proud of it.
FROM: M

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
4

Very clever use of news footage. Powerful and unsettling, showing real people , refreshing. Good use of music , not too depressing, inspiring hope.
FROM: Catriona M

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
5

Follow up film called “Dawn of Smart” ? Examples of successful low/zero carbon initiatives, communities, policies and technologies. Would love to be involved in that!
FROM: Antony T

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
5

Brilliantly executed and I’m stunned how much superb promotion/follow up you’re doing.
FROM: Ed D

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
5

Excellent – informative . A good intro! That groups can use as an intro/warm up to their specific/local climate campaigns.
FROM: Louise E

Viewer on 28th Sep 2008 said:
5

Beautifully made – moving and inspiring. It’s the film the world has been waiting for-roll on February 09.
FROM: William D